Notes from the Underground /
After the Fact

2 LP set


M.I.A.‘s last 2 albums are reissued on vinyl for the first time since their original release in 1985 and 1987. Issued as a deluxe handcrafted package, this set includes 2 colored vinyl 12″ LPs, a silkscreened cover, a die-cut cover, 4 inserts and a generous 40 page booklet.

M.I.A. is a seminal hardcore punk band from Las Vegas / Orange County. They appeared on the classic 1982 Last Rites for Genocide and M.I.A. split LP and released the Murder in a Foreign Place album on Jello Biafra’s Alternative Tentacles label in 1984.

In 1985, the band enlisted the services of producer Thom Wilson (T.S.O.L, Dead Kennedys, D.I., D.O.A., etc.) and recorded Notes from the Underground. Following a path treaded by the likes of the Damned and T.S.O.L., the band expanded their sound with darker tones and a more personal approach. The band split-up soon after the release of the record.

In 1986 singer Mike Conley took over guitar duties and reformed the band with original Last Rites drummer Chris Moon, along with Frank Daly and Mark Arnold (who would both go on to form Big Drill Car). After the Fact, released in 1987 on Flipside records retains the classic OC punk sound, adding a dose of British new-wave.

Available in the U.S. from Darla Records

  • 1 copy postpaid shipped to World

42 €

  • 2 copies postpaid shipped to World

66 €

  • 1 copy postpaid shipped to France

36 €

  • 2 copies postpaid shipped to France

60 €

(Get in touch for a custom shipping quote when ordering multiple items)